Schedule

Pre-Conference Workshop

Wednesday, June 2, 10-11 AM PST / 11 AM- 12 PM MST / 12 -1 PM CST / 1-2 PM EST

Accessible Presentation Design Workshop

Presenter: Dr. Dev Bose (University of Arizona)


This workshop will cover the basics of accessible design for conference presentations, utilizing universal design for learning (UDL) as a framework for learning. Feel free to bring your own materials and work along! At left is a link to a shared note-taking doc. Please respect the presenter and do not share these materials outside the conference experience without the permission of the presenter. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided.


Dev K. Bose, Ph.D. (he/him) is an assistant professor of English at the University of Arizona, affiliating as Assistant Director in Writing Program, faculty in Rhetoric, Composition, and the Teaching of English, Faculty Fellow for the Disability Cultural Center, and Co-Chair for the Disability Studies Initiative. He researches rhetorical privilege and access pertaining to technology and invisible disabilities. His work has appeared in Disability Studies Quarterly, Deaf Studies Encyclopedia, Intermezzo, Enculturation, Technoculture, Currents in Teaching and Learning, Journal of Business and Technical Communication, and Chronicle of Higher Education.

Day One

Sunday, June 6, 1-3:30 PM PST / 2-4:30 PM MST / 3-5:3o PM CST / 4-6:30 PM EST

Opening Remarks

Welcome by ATTW President Dr. Angela Haas & Conference Team (Drs. Laura Gonzales, Khirsten L. Scott, and Ann Shivers-McNair)

1 - 1:30 PM (PST)

2 - 2:30 PM (MST)

3 - 3:30 PM (CST)

4 - 4:30 PM (EST)

At left is a link to a shared note-taking doc. Please respect the presenters and do not share these materials outside the conference experience without the permission of the presenters. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided.

Keynote Address: Contingency and International Scholars' Experience in US Academic Spaces

Presenter: Dr. Josephine Walwema (University of Washington)


1:30 - 2:30 PM (PST)

2:30 - 3:30 PM (MST)

3:30 - 4:30 PM (CST)

5:30 - 6:30 PM (EST)


At left is a link to a shared note-taking doc. Please respect the presenter and do not share these materials outside the conference experience without the permission of the presenter. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided.


Josephine Walwema came to the US as an international graduate student. She was born and raised in Uganda, a country located in East Africa. Uganda’s best features are first and foremost its people. Ugandans often go out of their way to welcome strangers and make them feel home

away from home. Uganda is also home to the great lake Victoria, out of which flows the majestic River Nile, the longest river in the world.

Walwema completed her MA from the University of New Mexico in 2007, and her PhD from Clemson University in 2011. Afterwards, she took a position as Assistant Professor of Writing and Rhetoric at Oakland University in Rochester, Michigan where she earned tenure and was promoted to Associate Professor of Writing and Rhetoric in 2016.


She is currently with the University of Washington’s Interdisciplinary Writing Program, where she is helping create courses in technical and professional communication. Her scholarship has appeared in major journals in our field.

Networking

2:30 - 3:30 PM (PST)

3:30 - 4:30 PM (MST)

4:30 - 5:30 PM (CST)

5:30 - 6:30 PM (EST)


Details forthcoming. At left is a link to a shared note-taking doc. Please respect attendees and do not share these materials outside the conference experience without the permission of those participating. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided in the main Zoom room.

DAY TWO

Monday, June 7, 8 AM - 4 PM PST / 9 AM - 5 PM MST / 10 AM - 6 PM CST / 11 AM - 7 PM EST

DBLAC Anti-Racist Writing Group

Presenters: Dr. Khirsten L. Scott (University of Pittsburgh) and DBLAC


8 - 9:30 AM (PST)

9 - 10:30 AM (MST)

10 - 11:30 AM (CST)

11 AM - 12:30 PM (EST)


Details forthcoming. At left is a link to a shared note-taking doc. Please respect presenters and attendees and do not share these materials outside the conference experience without the permission of presenters and participants. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided in the main Zoom room.

Concurrent Session A


11 - 11:45 AM (PST)

12 - 12:45 PM (MST)

1 - 1:45 PM (CST)

2 - 2:45 PM (EST)


6 panels


Access panel and presenter information for Concurrent Session A. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided for all panels.

Concurrent Session B


12:30 - 1:15 PM (PST)

1:30 - 2:15 PM (MST)

2:30 - 3:15 PM (CST)

3:30 - 4:15 PM (EST)


6 panels

Access panel and presenter information for Concurrent Session B. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided for all panels.

Concurrent Session C


1:45 - 2:30 PM (PST)

2:45 - 3:30 PM (MST)

3:45 - 4:30 PM (CST)

4:45 - 5:30 PM (EST)


5 panels


Access panel and presenter information for Concurrent Session C. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided for all panels.

Evening Networking

3 - 4 PM (PST)

4 - 5 PM (MST)

5 - 6 PM (CST)

6 - 7 PM (EST)


We have two options for networking:

DAY THREE

Tuesday, June 8, 8 AM - 6 PM PST / 9 AM - 7 PM MST / 10 AM - 8 PM CST / 11 AM - 9 PM EST

Morning Networking

8 - 9 AM (PST)

9 - 10 AM (MST)

10 - 11 AM (CST)

11 AM - 12 PM (EST)


We have two options for networking:

Concurrent Session D


9:30 - 10:15 AM (PST)

10:30 - 11:15 AM (MST)

11:30 AM - 12:15 PM (CST)

12:30 - 1:15 PM (EST)


5 panels

Access panel and presenter information for Concurrent Session D. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided for all panels.

Concurrent Session E


10:45 - 11:30 AM (PST)

11:45 AM - 12:30 PM (MST)

12:45 - 1:30 PM (CST)

1:45 - 2:30 PM (EST)


5 panels

Access panel and presenter information for Concurrent Session E. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided for all panels.

Keynote: The Power of Language in Building Confianza with Communities

Presenters: Maria Barker (Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin) and Dr. Rachel Bloom-Pojar (University of Wisconson--Milwaukee)


12 - 1 PM (PST)

1 - 2 PM (MST)

2 - 3 PM (CST)

3 - 4 PM (EST)


The words we choose to use when communicating with others say a lot about how much people can trust us. The ways we speak, sign, write, react, and express ourselves have the power to connect and to cause harm. They can be the difference between building a relationship and feeling like someone is talking down to you. That's why the words we use matter, and it matters why we use the words we do with different people. In Spanish, the word trust translates to confianza, but confianza is more than just trust. In this keynote address, Maria and Rachel will discuss their work with confianza and promotores de salud (health promoters) at Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin. As we discuss language, access, and power at this conference, we hope to bring confianza and community expertise to the forefront of how we think about technical communication, community-university partnerships, and the words we use with others in our daily lives.


At left is a link to a shared note-taking doc. Please respect the presenter and do not share these materials outside the conference experience without the permission of the presenter. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided.


Maria Barker is the Director of Latinx Programs and Initiatives for Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin, Inc. (PPWI). A bilingual (Spanish/English) certified sexuality educator of Mexican origin. Maria is keenly aware of the need to provide support, education, and services to Latinx populations most in need- 90 % of Maria’s programs are facilitated in Spanish to meet the needs of the communities she serves throughout Wisconsin. She is well recognized for recruiting, training, and working with lay community workers known as “Promotores de Salud” to reach the Latino community. Maria is a graduate of the Latino Nonprofit Leadership Program through the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and Cardinal Stritch University. She is a certified Sexuality Educator by Planned Parenthood of Western Washington and Centralia College.


Rachel Bloom-Pojar is an Associate Professor with the program in Public Rhetorics and Community Engagement at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Her research examines communication about health with a specific focus on the rhetorical practices of Latinx communities, interpreters, and promotores de salud (health promoters). She spent the 2020-2021 academic year in residence at Planned Parenthood of Wisconsin (PPWI) as a Mellon/ACLS Scholars and Society Fellow working with the promotores de salud program. You can find her published work in the NCTE Studies in Writing and Rhetoric Series, Reflections, Present Tense, the Journal of Applied Communication Research, and Methodologies for the Rhetoric of Health and Medicine (Routledge).


Concurrent Session F


1:30 - 2:15 PM (PST)

2:30 - 3:15 PM (MST)

3:30 - 4:15 PM (CST)

4:30 - 5:15 PM (EST)


6 panels

Access panel and presenter information for Concurrent Session F. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided for all panels.

Concurrent Session G


2:45 - 3:30 PM (PST)

3:45 - 4:30 PM (MST)

4:45 - 5:30 PM (CST)

5:45 - 6:30 PM (EST)


5 panels

Access panel and presenter information for Concurrent Session G. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided for all panels.

Concurrent Session H


3:45 - 4:30 PM (PST)

4:45 - 5:30 PM (MST)

5:45 - 6:30 PM (CST)

6:45 - 7:30 PM (EST)


5 panels

Access panel and presenter information for Concurrent Session H. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided for all panels.

CPTSC Grad Student Committee Networking

5 - 6 PM (PST)

6 - 7 PM (MST)

7 - 8 PM (CST)

8 - 9 PM (EST)


Come join us and meet fellow graduate students, hear about what the CPTSC-GSC is up to, and help us shape our goals for the next year! Submit your name and email address in order to receive a Zoom link. ASL and CART will be provided. At left is a link to a shared note-taking doc.


DAY Four

Wednesday, June 9, 8 AM - 5 PM PST / 9 AM - 6 PM MST / 10 AM - 7 PM CST / 11 AM - 8 PM EST

POSTER - The Rhetoric and Networks of Climatology: A Preliminary Study

Presenter: Shelton Weech, Purdue University

Access Google Drive folder for poster materials and a Google Doc for asynchronous comments and questions for the presenter. Tweet about this poster using the hashtag #ATTW21, but please do not share the poster materials outside the conference experience without the permission of the presenter.

Note that this is not a Zoom event; the interaction is in the Drive folder and Doc.

POSTER - Teachers and Technology: Access to and Use of Digital Tools in the Classroom

Presenters: Lisa Dusenberry, Georgia Southern University, and Joy Robinson, Northrop Grumman

Access Google Drive folder for poster materials and a Google Doc for asynchronous comments and questions for the presenters. Please do not tweet or share the poster materials.

Note that this is not a Zoom event; the interaction is in the Drive folder and Doc.

Awards Reception

Hosted by ATTW President Dr. Angela Haas (Illinois State University)


4 - 5 PM (PST)

5 - 6 PM (MST)

6 - 7 PM (CST)

7 - 8 PM (EST)


At left is a link to a shared note-taking doc. Please respect the presenter and participants and do not share these materials outside the conference experience without the permission of the presenter and participants. Presenters and participants who register for the conference will receive the Zoom link and password in an email. ASL and CART will be provided.